Thursday, May 27, 2010


Further to a Presidential promise at the 2009 FEI General Assembly in Copenhagen, a Development Task Force has been established. FEI President HRH Princess Haya will chair the new Task Force, whose members have been selected for their different skill sets.

The Development Task Force members are: Dmitry Titov (RUS), President of the Russian Equestrian Federation; Ho Nai Yue (SIN), President of the Asian Equestrian Federation; Betty Wates, Vice President of the Jamaican Equestrian Federation; Pablo Mayorga (ARG), FEI Executive Board member; Kim Gueho (MRI), Secretary General of the Mauritius Equestrian Federation; Manoj Jalan (IND), member of the Indian National Sports Development Fund and Ludger Beerbaum (GER), sport representative.

The mandate for the Development Task Force is:
1.   To evaluate the mandate for and composition of a future Development Committee;
2.   To evaluate the operation of the Development Committee and supporting structures within the FEI;
3.   To examine possible financial models to create a sustainable Development Programme in order to identify solutions which will best serve our National Federations and our sport;
4.    To identify immediate operational priorities for development, including the creation of a five-year development plan.

The Development Task Force will recommend a commonly agreed Mission Statement for the FEI Development Programme for approval by the FEI Bureau and the General Assembly.

“As chair of this new Development Task Force, I am honoured to be working with such an inspirational and motivated group of people”, FEI President Princess Haya said. “They have the ability to make a huge difference to the development of equestrian sport and we all recognise that it is now time to move to the next level with our development plans.”